Current track





Written by on 17/10/2014


Following last night’s prestigious men and women’s Traditional Gold Medal’s being clinched by Ruairidh Cormack and Ceitlin LR Smith,

Ruairidh, from Portree in Skye, won the men’s Traditional Gold medal following his sister Eilidh winning the Gold Medal earlier in the day.

The women’s Traditional Gold medal went to Ceitlin LR Smith from Ness.  Ceitlin came 3rd in the competition in 2012 and also performed as part of The Mòd fringe this year with her band Gria.

Today we look forward to seeing  the best Gaelic choir’s compete to win the Lovat & Tullibardine and Margrat Duncan trophies at Am Mòd Nàiseanta Rìoghail (The Royal National Mòd).


This evening we look forward to the final Calmac concert as part of the Fringe, acclaimed as the biggest in the festival’s 122 year history.  Starring Cruinn and the Glenfinnan Ceilidh band, it will be a fitting celebration.

Officially marking the end of The Mòd 2014, a procession of massed choir’s will go through the city tomorrow at 10:30am, culminating at Inverness Castle.  In a special handover ceremony, The Royal National Mòd banner will be presented to representatives from the 2015 host town, Oban.   Next year’s festival is taking place from 9th – 17th October and will be the 123rd year of the most important festival of the Gaelic language in Scotland.